Jason Isbell dominated the 2014 Americana Music Awards in Nashville on Wednesday night (Sept. 17), taking home the honors for Artist, Album and Song of the Year.

The awards ceremony took place at the historic Ryman Auditorium in downtown Nashville, bringing together an eclectic crowd of the brightest young lights in Americana, as well as some of America's most legendary roots performers.

"Happy birthday to Hank Williams," Isbell said as he accepted the award for Song of the Year for 'Cover Me Up.' "If it wasn't for that guy, we'd be doing this in some burned-out Kmart in Murfreesboro."

His live rendition of the song was one of the standout performances of the night.

Sturgill Simpson took home the award for Emerging Artist of the Year, and also performed 'Life of Sin.'

“There’s too many people I could thank, so I’ll just thank my family," he said (quote via Saving Country Music).

Jackson Browne was on hand to receive the Spirit of Americana/Free Speech of Music Award.

“It’s part of the American character to say what you believe," he noted. "Commercialism has never been a friend of free speech.”

Loretta Lynn also accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriter, which Kacey Musgraves and Angaleena Presley presented.

"When they called me that we were going to [receive] this award, I said, 'Nah, you've got the wrong one,'" she said (quote via USA Today). "But it was right, and I was so proud."

Wednesday night's ceremony also included live performances from the Milk Carton Kids, Robert Plant and Patty Griffin, Rosanne Cash, Parker Millsap, the Devil Makes Three, Hurray for the Riff Raff, Valerie June, Robert Ellis, Sarah Jarosz, St. Paul and the Broken Bones, Cassandra Wilson and Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives.

See a complete list of winners below.

Album of the Year: 'Southeastern,' Jason Isbell (Producer Dave Cobb)
Artist of the Year: Jason Isbell
Duo/Group of the Year: The Milk Carton Kids
Song of the Year: 'Cover Me Up,' Jason Isbell
Emerging Artist of the Year: Sturgill Simpson
Instrumentalist of the Year: Buddy Miller
Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award: Jackson Browne
Lifetime Achievement for Instrumentalist: Flaco Jimenez
Lifetime Achievement for Performance: Taj Mahal
Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriter: Loretta Lynn
President's Award: Jimmie Rodgers

More From TheBoot