Wanda Jackson and John Mellencamp will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Americana Music Association next month. The pair are among a handful of musical luminaries who will be honored at a special ceremony on September 9, at Nashville's legendary Ryman Auditorium.

Wanda Jackson will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of her pioneering career as one of the first female rockabilly singers. She joins an elite group of artists, including Asleep at the Wheel, Marty Stuart and Emmylou Harris who have been previously honored in the performance category.

John Mellencamp, whose career in pop, rock and country music spans more than 30 years as both a writer and an artist, will take home the Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting, for his significant contributions to the working man's lifestyle. Past recipients of the award include legendary tunesmiths John Fogerty, Willie Nelson, Rodney Crowell and John Prine.

Other recipients of the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award include Universal Music Group Nashville Chairman Luke Lewis, session player Greg Leisz (who's played for Lucinda Williams, Beck, Smashing Pumpkins and more), and producer Brian Ahern (who's produced George Jones, Anne Murray, Ricky Skaggs, Emmylou Harris and more).

The ceremony will also include the talents of two frequent Americana Music Association award winners. Jim Lauderdale will return once again as host, while Buddy Miller will lead a star-studded house band. Other artists expected to appear include Rosanne Cash, Shelby Lynne, Patty Griffin and Sam Bush.

The ceremony is part of the annual Americana Music Festival and Conference, held September 8 - 11 in Music City. More information can be found here.