Loretta Lynn and Jackson Browne are among the artists who will be honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards at the upcoming 13th annual Americana Music Association Honors & Awards ceremony.

Lynn will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting. The country legend is one of the most important songwriters in the history of country music; she challenged the conventions of the genre and helped to re-define the role of women in country with groundbreaking songs like 'The Pill,' 'Don't Come Home a Drinkin' (With Lovin' on Your Mind)' and 'Rated X.'

She's also the recipient of a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as a Kennedy Center Honor. Last November, President Obama awarded Lynn a Presidential Medal of Freedom -- the highest civilian honor in the United States.

Browne is set to receive the Spirit of Americana Award, Free Speech in Music, based on his many years of using his music as a platform for social activism. Browne has been a very public supporter of clean energy, Farm Aid and Amnesty International, among other organizations, while also using his songs as a platform to criticize US foreign policy in the '80s.

In addition, Flaco Jimenez will be given the Lifetime Achievement Award as an Instrumentalist, and Taj Mahal will receive the Lifetime Achievement in Performance.

The 13th Annual Americana Honors & Awards will take place on Sept. 17 at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

More From TheBoot