The Americana Music Association has announced the nominees for their upcoming Honors and Awards ceremony. Robert Plant and Elizabeth Cook lead the nominations with three each, while singer-songwriters Justin Townes Earle and Hayes Carll were each nominated in two categories.

Last year's Album of the Year winner Rosanne Cash unveiled the list of nominees at New York City's Gibson/Baldwin Showroom, in front of a room full of guests that included producer and songwriter T Bone Burnett and Nashville Mayor Karl Dean. Rosanne, the Civil Wars and Levon Helm and His Dirt Farmer Quartet, featuring Jim Lauderdale also performed.

The Americana Music Association Honors & Awards ceremony takes place on October 13 at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium, as part of the Americana Music Festival and Conference, held October 12-15, 2011, in Nashville.

2011 Americana Award Nominees

Album of the Year

• Robert Plant - 'Band of Joy'

• Elizabeth Cook - 'Welder'

• Justin Townes Earle - 'Harlem River Blues'

Lucinda Williams - 'Blessed'

Artist of the Year

Buddy Miller

• Elizabeth Cook

• Hayes Carll

• Robert Plant

New/Emerging Artist of the Year

• The Civil Wars

Mumford And Sons

The Secret Sisters

Jessica Lea Mayfield

Duo/Group of the Year

The Avett Brothers

• The Civil Wars

• Mumford And Sons

• Robert Plant and the Band Of Joy

Song of the Year

• 'Down By The Water' - Decemberists with Gillian Welch

• 'El Camino - Elizabeth Cook

• 'Kmag Yoyo' - Hayes Carll

• 'Harlem River Blues' - Justin Townes Earle

Instrumentalist of the Year

• Buddy Miller

Gurf Morlix

Kenny Vaughan

Sarah Jarosz

Will Kimbrough

More From TheBoot