Minnesota-based Trampled By Turtles have announced the upcoming release of a new album, Life Is Good on the Open Road, set for June 1. Ahead of the album, TBT have shared a new single off the project, "Kelly's Bar;" readers can press play below to listen to the frantically paced, heavy-on-the-fiddle ballad that is the classic TBT sound fans have been waiting for four years to hear more of.

TBT went on an "indefinite hiatus" in 2014, following 15 years of a fast-paced tour and recording schedule. The six-piece string band, consisting of frontman and primary songwriter Dave Simonett and bandmates Erik Berry, Ryan Young, Dave Carroll, Tim Saxhaug and Eamonn McLain, reunited at a cabin in the Minnesota woods on Oct. 2  of 2017, coincidentally the same day that a musical hero of all six band members, Tom Petty, passed away.

“We started cracking beers and hanging out, and all of a sudden it was like, ‘Wow!’” Simonett shares of the experience. “So we went down by the lake and brought a speaker and a bottle of whiskey, and just sat and listened to like six Tom Petty records straight. It felt good as a band to be sharing in that. Somebody we had all admired so much musically, that we could kind of bond over.”

By the end of the week, TBT had the better part of a new album compiled. Life Is Good on the Open Road is due for release via Thirty Tigers, and the band is preparing to hit the road beginning in May for a tour in support of the 12-track project. For tour info and album pre-order, visit Trampled By Turtles website.

Listen to Trampled By Turtles' "Kelly's Bar"

Trampled By Turtles, Life Is Good on the Open Road Track Listing:

1. "Kelly's Bar"
2. "0:00"
3. "We All Get Lonely"
4. "The Middle"
5. "Thank You, John Steinbeck"
6. "Annihilate"
7. "Right Back Where We Started"
8. "Life Is Good on the Open Road"
9. "Blood in the Water"
10. "I Went to Hollywood"
11. "I'm Not There Anymore"
12. "Good Land"
13. "I Learn the Hard Way"

Country Songs Everyone Should Hear Before They Die

More From TheBoot