The category of New Artist of the Year has been a subject of some controversy in the 2014 ACM Awards.

After a combined vote from fans and industry professionals who constitute the membership of the Academy of Country Music, Kip Moore, Brett Eldredge and Justin Moore were revealed as the final nominees in February, winning out over an impressive group of semi-finalists that included Tyler Farr, Kacey Musgraves, Lee Brice, Parmalee and Thomas Rhett.

The controversy centered around Justin Moore, who released his self-titled debut in 2009, and its follow-up, 'Outlaws Like Me,' in 2011. His third album, 'Off the Beaten Path,' is currently in release, and since he has had more than one album certified gold, technically he does not qualify for the category. The ACM's board of directors made an exception to their own rules in order to include him.

Kip Moore has seen enormous success with his debut album, 'Up All Night,' which has scored three hit singles in 'Somethin' 'bout a Truck,' 'Beer Money' and 'Hey Pretty Girl.' Eldredge released his debut album, 'Bring You Back,' to both critical and commercial acclaim, placing three chart singles including the No. 1 hit, 'Don't Ya.' Justin Moore's latest, 'Off the Beaten Path,' reached the top of the charts and scored the hit single, 'Point at You.'

Which of these deserves to win New Artist of the Year at the 2014 ACM Awards? Vote below as often as once an hour, and we'll tabulate the results for our ACM Awards predictions the week before the show.

Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan will return to host this year’s awards ceremony, which will air live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas Sunday, April 6 at 8PM ET on CBS. See a complete list of nominees here.