Famous son, Americana star and Neil Young backing musician Lukas Nelson delves further into his rock influences on "Bad Case," the first single off his band's forthcoming album Turn Off the News (Build a Garden), out June 14 via Fantasy Records. Readers can press play above to hear it.

It's probably lazy to liken rootsy rock 'n' roll to Tom Petty, but most will instantly think of the "Wildflowers" singer once Nelson and friends' new single hits its stride. There's also traces of anthemic '80s rock by such cult favorites as the Alarm.

"We wanted these songs to be fun and upbeat," says Nelson of "Bad Case" and others from his band's new album, "but we also wanted to have something to say. Rock 'n' roll began as a counter-cultural movement, so in the true spirit of rock 'n' roll, we're trying to encourage a lifestyle where people can be active in their local communities, rather than glued to a device.

"We listen to so many artists -- the Byrds, Tom Petty, Al Green, Neil Young, Little Feat, J.J. Cale -- and this album carries forth something they all represented, the idea of turning off the news and doing something constructive," Nelson adds. "It's a statement about how you can live your life with your heart leading the way."

The follow-up to Nelson and longtime backing band Promise of Real's self-titled 2017 album, Turn Off the News (Build a Garden) was co-produced by the band and John Alagia. Guest stars include Nelson's famous dad, Willie Nelson, brother Micah Nelson and such family friends as Young, Margo Price, Sheryl Crow, Kesha, Shooter Jennings, Randy Houser, Lucius, Madison Ryann Ward and Hunter Elizabeth.

Turn Off the News (Build a Garden) is available for pre-order now. A full track listing is below.

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real, Turn Off the News (Build a Garden) Track Listing:

1. "Bad Case"
2. "Turn Off the News (Build a Garden)"
3. "Where Does Love Go"
4. "Save a Little Heartache"
5. "Lotta Fun"
6. "Civilized Hell"
7. "Mystery"
8. "Simple Life"
9. "Out in LA"
10. "Something Real"
11. "Stars Made of You"
12. "Turn Off the News (Build a Garden) [Acoustic]"
13. "Consider It Heaven"

Who Is Lukas Nelson? 5 Things You Need to Know

More From TheBoot