A little over a year after dropping his self-titled debut to critical acclaim, Colter Wall has unveiled plans to release a new album, Songs of the Plains, on Oct. 12, 2018. The Americana up-and-comer also revealed a slew of upcoming tour dates in 2018 and early 2019, as well as shared the album's lead-off track, "Plain to See Plainsman." Press play above to listen to the track.

The Saskatchewan native says it was important to him on this record to create a musical landscape that fits the physical landscape where he grew up. To that end, in addition to the seven original songs on the project, Wall also included a handful of cowboy traditionals and covers from some of his own musical icons. One of those, a rendition of "Calgary Round-Up" inspired by the "Father of Canadian Country Music," Wilf Carter, was released on July 11.

"One thing I've noticed over the last few years, in the United States and playing in Europe, is that people all over the world really don't know much about Canada at all," Wall explains in a press release. "When you talk about Saskatchewan, people really have no idea. Part of it is because there are so few people there. It's an empty place ii it makes sense that people don't know much about it. But that's my home, so naturally I'm passionate about it. With this record, I really wanted people to look at our Western heritage and culture."

Wall recorded the album with help from legendary producer Dave Cobb, who also contributes acoustic guitar to the project. Wall will hit the road for an extensive headlining tour in support of the album. Tickets for most dates go on sale on Aug. 3 at 10AM local time. For tour dates, tickets and more information, head over to his website.

Colter Wall, Song of the Plains Track List:

1. “Plain to See Plainsman” (written by Colter Wall)
2. “Saskatchewan In 1881” (written by Colter Wall)
3. “John Beyers (Camaro Song)” (written by Colter Wall)
4. “Wild Dogs” (written by Billy Don Burns)
5. “Calgary Round-Up” (written by Wilf Carter)
6. “Night Herding Song” (Cowboy Traditional)
7. “Wild Bill Hickok” (written by Colter Wall)
8. “The Trains are Gone” (written by Colter Wall)
9. “Thinkin’ on a Woman” (written by Colter Wall)
10. “Manitoba Man” (written by Colter Wall)
11. “Tying Knots in the Devil’s Tail” (Cowboy Traditional)

5 Things to Know About Colter Wall

More From TheBoot