Aaron Lee Tasjan is set to release a new album, Karma for Cheap, on Aug. 31. The record follows Tasjan's 2016 release, Silver Tears, which garnished the Americana troubadour a devout fan following. Readers can press play above to hear the first song that Tasjan has shared off the upcoming project, "If Not Not When," which he says feels appropriate for the time we live in.

“The sound of the new record is a little more rough and ready, more raw than anything I’ve done before,” Tasjan shares in a press release. “Seems like a good time for it.  We’re living in a pretty raw feed right now, and a lot of these new songs reflect that ... There are a lot of people out there carrying the burden of this weird, twisted world we’re living in at the moment on their shoulders. So I tried to write a record that offers some comfort, encouragement and hope to those people, as much as it’s possible to be hopeful right now.”

Tasjan tells Rolling Stone Country that he hopes to be a cheerleader for the activists on the frontlines of social change: "To my gay friends, to my transgender friends, to my friends who are women, to my friends of various ethnicities. I wanted to make a record that had some good in it, and to try and do something that could help to comfort somebody or uplift somebody," he explains.

Karma for Cheap is set to drop via New West Records. Tasjan is currently on tour with Social Distortion; for a complete tour schedule, visit his website.

Aaron Lee Tasjan, Karma for Cheap Tracklist:

1. "If Not Now When"
2. "The Truth Is So Hard to Believe"
3. "The Rest Is Yet to Come"
4. "Heart Slows Down"
5. "End of the Day"
6. "Dream Dreamer"
7. "Strange Shadows"
8. "Set You Free"
9. "Crawling at Your Feet"
10. "Song Bird"

More From TheBoot