There are songwriters, and then there are ACM-nominated songwriters. There are five stellar songwriters who put pen to paper and pick to guitar, creating fan-favorite songs, nominated for Songwriter of the Year at the 2015 ACM Awards, but only one can win the prize. Who will it be?

Rodney Clawson, Ashley Gorley, Luke Laird, Josh Osborne and Chris Tompkins are all nominated for Songwriter of the Year this year; it is Osborne's very first ACM nomination and Tompkins' first nod in this category. Last year, Shane McAnally took home the prize, while Dallas Davidson nabbed it the two consecutive years prior.

Clawson has written hits for singers such as Faith Hill, Jason Aldean, George Strait and Luke Bryan, with his more recent tunes including Aldean's "Burnin' It Down," Lady Antebellum's "Bartender," Bryan's "Crash My Party," Florida Georgia Line's "Dirt" and the Band Perry's "Don't Let Me Be Lonely." This is his third year being nominated in this category.

Throughout his career, Gorley has written 17 No. 1 singles and placed more than 200 of his songs with artists including Carrie Underwood, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton, Bryan, Rascal Flatts and Reba McEntire. Recognizable Gorley-penned songs include the Flatts' "Rewind," Cole Swindell's "Swayin'" and Chris Young's "Aw Naw," among many, many others. Gorley is a two-time nominee for Songwriter of the Year.

When country songwriters are mentioned, Laird's name is always toward the top of the list. His 19 No. 1 Billboard singles include hits like Eric Church's "Give Me Back My Hometown," Kenny Chesney's "American Kids," Little Big Town's "Pontoon," Underwood's "Last Name," Sara Evans' "A Little Bit Stronger" and countless others. The Pennsylvania transplant was named BMI's Country Songwriter of the Year in 2012; this is his fourth time nominated in this category.

The Kentucky-raised Osborne, for whom this is his very first ACM Awards nomination, signed with Black River Entertainment in 2010, and since then, his career has skyrocketed. He has written songs like Kacey Musgraves' "Merry Go 'Round," the Eli Young Band's "Drunk Last Night," TBP's "Chainsaw," Chesney's "Wild Child" and "Come Over" and many more hits.

Tompkins rounds out the 2015 nominees for Songwriter of the Year. Since 2002, he has written chart-topping songs for pop, rock and country artists, including Dierks Bentley's hilarious "Drunk on a Plane," Aldean's "Burnin' It Down" and FGL's "Dirt." Although this is his first time being nominated for Songwriter of the Year, he was also nominated in 2006 for Song of the Year -- Songwriter, for "Before He Cheats."

Who should win Songwriter of the Year at the 2015 ACM Awards? The winner will be announced when this year's Special Awards honorees are revealed, on a date to be announced, but you can vote in the poll below as often as once an hour until that time.

The 2015 ACM Awards will air live from AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on April 19 at 8PM ET on CBS.

More From TheBoot