The Infamous Stringdusters have announced new music, to be released on Jan. 13. Laws of Gravity will be the acoustic bluegrass band's eighth studio album.

Written while on tour, Laws of Gravity will feature the tight melodies and fresh Americana feel that fans have come to know and love from the Infamous Stringdusters. The five-man string band has already shared one of the album's tracks, "This Ol' Building;" it's a politically charged tune with an R&B twist that puts the "blues" in bluegrass.

"I wrote "This Ol' Building" in the middle of what turned out to be the most polarizing and divisive presidential election of my time," says Stringdusters guitarist Andy Falco in a press release. "It seems now to be a warning to come together. We must be united and try to understand each other. We must respect each other, listen to each other and help each other."

The title of Laws of Gravity is a reference to all the things that keep the Infamous Stringdusters grounded while they travel the world.

"You write what you know," Falco adds. "We're on the road all the time, and there's always gravity that's keeping you grounded and pulling you home. The themes on this album stem from things that happen out on the road, and the freedom we have to make music ... We're telling these stories of musical nomads."

The Infamous Stringdusters hope that their new album will capture the feel of their live shows. Banjo player Chris Pandolfi says that the group had more of a vision for Laws of Gravity than they did for past albums.

"We know that capturing the live, collective sound always opens a door for the listeners, as opposed to building and crafting something that you can only make in the studio," the musician explains in the release. "We are a band. We play live, together, and more than any one song or achievement, this is what we do. Now we have an album that captures that."

Laws of Gravity follows 2016's Ladies & Gentleman, an album that featured female singers such as Lee Ann Womack, Mary Chapin Carpenter and Joss Stone. The new release will be a return to the band's roots, finding its sound in the quintet's tight and polished instrumentals that still maintain an improvised and organic feel.

"This is an important record for us, coming off the Ladies & Gentlemen project," notes Falco. "That album exposed us to a lot of new fans, and we toured so hard this year, it really feels like a great time in the history of the band. We think Laws of Gravity is a quintessential Stringdusters record, and that all facets of the group are represented on the album in a cohesive way."

Fans can pre-order Laws of Gravity on iTunes and receive "This Ol' Building" immediately. The Infamous Stringdusters will also hit the road in 2017, for an extensive tour in support of their album; a full list of dates is available on their website.

The Infamous Stringdusters, Laws of Gravity Track Listing:

1. "Freedom"
2. "Gravity"
3. "A Hard Life Makes a Good Song"
4. "Vertigo"
5. "Maxwell"
6. "Black Elk"
7. "This Ol' Building"
8. "Soul Searching"
9. "1901: A Canyon Odyssey"
10. "Sirens"
11. "Back Home"
12. "Let Me Know"
13. "I Run to You"