Joshua Scott Jones has released his sophomore solo album, The Rural Deal.

The former Steel Magnolia member dropped his first solo project, The Healing, in 2014. That album served as a story of redemption from Jones' journey through drug and alcohol addition, and on his new album, Jones walks fans through his life story, with each track representing a different period from his past.

The Rural Deal's title song takes aim at the present, with not-so-subtle (but lighthearted) digs at the country music industry, while the song "Britney," which Jones says is his best attempt at "bro-country," takes listeners back to the singer's high school years in Illinois. The album also features tracks about Jones' relationship with alcohol, a prediction of his own death and more.

Steel Magnolia, which Jones was in with then-fiancee Meghan Linsey, parted ways both personally and professionally after Jones entered rehab in 2011.

“I tried [to quit] by myself for years. It was messy,” Jones says. “There was a lot of apologizing back then, and trying to remember where I’d been and what went on.”

Despite the end of their relationship, Jones and Linsey remain on good terms and support each other's solo careers.

“I still hear from Josh, and he’s very supportive,” Linsey says. "We’re both really supportive of each other. I want him to be successful, as well. It’s a good, positive relationship, which is good!”

The Rural Deal is available for purchase via iTunes and Amazon.

Joshua Scott Jones, The Rural Deal Track Listing:

1. "The Rural Deal"
2. "Britney"
3. "Bullies"
4. "Wesley"
5. "Whiskey Glass"
6. "Goodbye Illinois"
7. "Los Angeles"
8. "Last Day of My Life"
9. "Dimes"
10. "7th Street"
11. "Tommy"
12. "King of Tears"

More of 2016's New Country Albums