Dave Cobb, a 2016 Grammy Awards nominee for Producer of the Year, is working on a new compilation project featuring artists including Jason Isbell, Miranda Lambert, Zac Brown, Chris Stapleton and many more.

The record, Southern Family, is being produced by and was conceived by Cobb; it features 10 original songs and two covers. In addition to the previously mentioned artists, John Paul White (formerly of the Civil Wars), Jamey Johnson, Anderson East, Holly Williams, Brent Cobb, Brandy Clark, Shooter Jennings and Rich Robinson have all contributed to the project, which was recorded in Nashville throughout the fall of 2015.

"Somebody said, ‘You should make a concept record,’ and I kind of giggled about it for a second. But then I thought, 'Man, wouldn’t it be amazing to have all my friends on one record and really find a common thread?'" Cobb explains. "... This really encapsulates Nashville right now: There’s something to it. There’s something in the air.

"There’s a lot of great things about Nashville. There’s something here that doesn’t exist anywhere else in my lifetime," he continues. "I’m sure this happened in London in the ‘60s and California in the ‘70s and maybe New York in the late ’50s or early ‘60s. But I think, right now, Nashville is the home of music.”

Southern Family is scheduled to drop on March 18 on Low Country Sound / Elektra Record. It is available for pre-order now; each pre-order comes with an immediate download of White's “Simple Song," which fans can listen to below.

In addition to being up for Producer of the Year at the 2016 Grammy Awards, Cobb is also nominated, as producer, for Album of the Year (Stapleton’s Traveller), Best Country Album (Traveller as well) and Best Americana Album (Isbell’s Something More Than Free).

Dave Cobb and Friends, Southern Family Track Listing:

1. John Paul White, “Simple Song”
2. Jason Isbell, “God Is a Working Man”
3. Brent Cobb, “Down Home”
4. Miranda Lambert, “Sweet By and By”
5. Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton, “You Are My Sunshine”
6. Zac Brown, “Grandma’s Garden”
7. Jamey Johnson, “Momma’s Table”
8. Anderson East, “Learning”
9. Holly Williams, “Settle Down”
10. Brandy Clark, “I Cried”
11. Shooter Jennings, “Can You Come Over?"
12. Rich Robinson (featuring the Settles Connection), “The Way Home”

Listen to John Paul White, "Simple Song":

Top 10 Country Albums of 2015

More From TheBoot