It's official: 2019's ACM Songwriter of the Year is Shane McAnally. The trophy was handed out on Friday night (April 5), during the ACM Party for a Cause Stories, Songs & Stars event in Las Vegas, Nev.

McAnally's helped pen a number of country mega-hits in recent years. He's one of country music's most well-known and -loved current songwriters -- but he last won the ACM Songwriter of the Year trophy in 2014.

McAnally's been nominated for ACM Songwriter of the Year six times: in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019. This year, he's also nominated for Song of the Year as a producer, for his work on Kacey Musgraves' "Space Cowboy." McAnally's other ACM Awards win to date came in the Album of the Year category, for his work as a producer on Musgraves' debut disc, Same Trailer Different Park.

The 2019 ACM Awards will take place on Sunday, April 7 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena. The show will air live on CBS beginning at 8PM ET.

The Boot will be staying up late covering the most buzzed-about winners, fashion and moments at the 2019 ACM Awards. Readers can watch along with us by checking back to for the latest ACMs headlines, liking The Boot on Facebook and following The Boot on Twitter.

The Secret History of the ACM Awards

2019 ACM Awards: 7 Ways the Nominations Surprised Us

More From TheBoot