Nickel Creek frontwoman Sara Watkins has officially struck out on her own. On July 1, Watkins will release Young in All the Wrong Ways, the first “fully realized” album of her solo career.

Announced via a press release, Young in All the Wrong Ways is a transformative album for Watkins, who describes it as a “breakup album with myself.” A track listing is below.

"I looked around and realized that in many ways I wasn't who or where I wanted to be," Watkins says in a statement. "What these songs are documenting is the turmoil you feel when you know something has to change and you're grappling with what that means. It means you're losing something and moving forward into the unknown."

Watkins’ sound has decidedly evolved since her days with Nickel Creek: The album features electric guitar and organ in its heavier moments, ukulele and Watkins’ fiddle in the more vulnerable parts. Its first single, “Move Me,” has been described as a “gentle country-pop arrangement that builds to full-on, hair-flinging ‘90s goddess rock.”

Watkins has most recently been on the road with Patty Griffin and Anais Mitchell, on the League of Women Voters’ Use Your Voice Tour, a trek intended to increase voter education and participation. This summer, she’ll head to Tennessee to play Bonnaroo before performing in Garrison Keillor’s A Prairie Home Companion show at the Hollywood Bowl; later in the fall, she’ll begin a solo tour.

Young in All the Wrong Ways will be released on vinyl, via digital download and on CD. It is currently available for pre-order through PledgeMusic.

Sara Watkins, Young in All the Wrong Ways Track Listing:

1. "Young in All the Wrong Ways"
2. "The Love That Got Away"
3. "One Last Time"
4. "Move Me"
5. "Like New Year's Day"
6. "Say So"
7. "Without a Word"
8. "The Truth Won't Set Us Free"
9. "Invisible"
10. "Tenderhearted"

Watch Sara Watkins' "Move Me" Music Video

More of 2016's New Country Albums

More From TheBoot