It's been three years since Montgomery Gentry released an album of new tunes, but that's about to change.

The duo is planning to release a new record, Folks Like Us, on June 9, just in time to kick off the summer.

“Listening back through our older albums, I can definitely hear some growth and maturity in the new music, but Folks Like Us still feels like a Montgomery Gentry record,” Troy Gentry says. “There are probably a few more introspective moments on the album, and front to back, this might just be our strongest record yet.”

MG's latest project, which will be released on Blaster Records through RED Distribution, boasts an impressive list of songwriters, including Ross Copperman, Chris Stapleton, Craig Wiseman, Jeffrey Steele and David Lee Murphy, among others. Veteran producer Michael Knox produced the album.

“We’re still who we are at the roots,” Eddie Montgomery adds. “I reckon, you let it branch out a little bit and you learn. You live and learn, so that’s what we’ve tried to do with this new record.”

The duo already released the disc's debut single, which happens to be its title track. Written by Ash Bowers, Adam Craig and Neal Coty, the tune is reminiscent of their classic sound from their freshman 1999 Tattoos & Scars record.

“It’s what you might expect to hear out of Montgomery Gentry,” Gentry says. “It’s a song about American society and making ends meet. It’s about being patriotic and showing your faith and the love of family. It’s one of those blue-collar songs that we’ve been known for doing for so long.”

In an age where artists are continuously trying to reinvent themselves and branch out into different formats, Montgomery Gentry are committed to sticking with what their fans have come to expect from them.

“Our fan base and radio listeners out there recognize when our music comes on the radio wherever they may hear our music. I think it’s very identifiable, and it’s what has made us unique and kept us in the game for as long as we’ve been around," Gentry explains. "We’re just a little bit slightly different of what everybody else is doing.

“Every now and then, we might try to change things up — musically and stuff, or when someone from the record label or management wanted to do something different," he continues. "It always has come back to us that our audience wants us to do what Montgomery Gentry does best — and that’s singing to the hard-core, patriotic, blue-collar workers out here that work hard.”

A complete track listing for Folks Like Us is available below.

Montgomery Gentry, Folks Like Us Track Listing: 

1. "We Were Here"
2. "Headlights"
3. "In a Small Town"
4. "Back on a Dirt Road" (feat. Chris Robertson / Black Stone Cherry)
5. "Two Old Friends"
6. "Folks Like Us"
7. "Pain"
8. "Hillbilly Hippies"
9. "Better for It"
10. "That’s Just Living"

More From TheBoot