In March of 1987, Dolly PartonLinda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris released their first collaborative album, Trio. In 1999, the threesome released their second album, Trio II, which had actually been recorded in 1994. And come September, fans of the three iconic country women will be able to get their hands on rare and unreleased Trio music as part of The Complete Trio Collection.

Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris: The Complete Trio Collection is set for release on Sept. 9 via Rhino, at a retail price of $29.98. Trio and Trio II have been remastered, while the third disc features unreleased songs and alternate takes from recording sessions in 1985, 1986, 1993, 1994 and 1998. The project was produced by Harris.

“We had a lot of outtakes,” Harris says. “I didn’t realize how many ... And it is some pretty great stuff. I go back and say, ‘Damn, we sounded good. Why didn’t we put that one on there?'”

In addition to The Complete Trio Collection, a single disc featuring a mix of songs from the three-disc set, My Dear Companion: Selections From the Trio Collection; a double-LP set of The Complete Trio Collection's bonus material on vinyl; and Trio II on vinyl for the first time will be released on Sept. 9.

“We’ve been trying for years to put out the thing that we had in the can and repackage the things that we did,” Parton explains. “Emmylou has been working at this for a long time."

The new project is bittersweet for the threesome, as Ronstadt’s ongoing battle with Parkison’s disease has left her unable to sing.

“I can’t get to the note,” Ronstadt says. “I can’t make any quality sound. I can’t arrange pitch. I might aim for a note and hit another one. It sounds like shouting.”

Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris, The Complete Trio Collection Track Listing

Disc One: Trio I

1. “The Pain of Loving You”
2. “Making Plans”
3. “To Know Him Is to Love Him”
4. “Hobo’s Meditation”
5. “Wildflowers”
6. “Telling Me Lies”
7. “My Dear Companion”
8. “Those Memories of You”
9. “I’ve Had Enough”
10. “Rosewood Casket”
11. “Farther Along”

Disc Two: Trio II

1. “Lover’s Return”
2. “High Sierra”
3. “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind”
4. “After the Gold Rush”
5. “The Blue Train”
6. “I Feel the Blues Movin’ In”
7. “You’ll Never Be the Sun”
8. “He Rode All the Way to Texas”
9. “Feels Like Home”
10. “When We’re Gone, Long Gone”

Disc Three: Bonus Material

1. “Wildflowers” (Alternate Take, Unreleased, 1986)
2. “Waltz Across Texas Tonight” (Unreleased, 1994)
3. “Lover’s Return” (Alternate Mix, Unreleased)
4. “Softly and Tenderly” (Unreleased, 1994)
5. “Pleasant as May” (Unreleased, 1986)
6. “My Dear Companion” (Alternate Take, 1986)
7. “My Blue Tears” (Unreleased, 1998)
8. “Making Plans” (Alternate Take, 1986)
9. “I’ve Had Enough” (Alternate Mix, 1986)
10. “Grey Funnel Line” (Unreleased, 1986)
11. “You Don’t Knock” (Unreleased, 1986)
12. “Where Will The Words Come From” (Unreleased, 1985)
13. “Do I Ever Cross Your Mind” (Dolly Lead, Alternate Take, 1994)
14. “Are You Tired of Me” (Unreleased, 1986)
15. “Even Cowgirls Get the Blues”
16. “Mr. Sandman”
17. “Handful of Dust” (Unreleased, 1993)
18. “Calling My Children Home” (Unreleased, A Cappella Version, 1986)
19. “White Snow” (Unreleased 1986)
20. “Farther Along” (Alternate Mix 1986)

More of 2016's New Country Releases

Unforgettable Dolly Parton Moments