Readers of The Boot have voted for Brantley Gilbert's 'Just As I Am' as the Album of the Month for May 2014.

Gilbert's fans turned out strong to help him beat some big names -- including Dolly Parton, Hunter Hayes and Rascal Flatts -- for the honor, earning him just over 53 % of the vote.

The hotly-anticipated album is set for release on May 20 via Valory Music Group, and according to Gilbert, it may be his most personal work to date.

“I have always said that each of my albums has told a story… my story, and this album is no different. This one picks up where ‘Halfway to Heaven left off,” he states.

“I have gone through a lot the past few years… a lot of highs and lows and all of that is reflected in this project. My fans know I’m a straight shooter so I didn’t leave anything out. I think there is something for everyone — from my party side to the gentler stuff. I can’t wait to share this new music with the BG Nation.”

The singer-songwriter co-wrote all of the album's 11 tracks. The lead single, 'Bottoms Up,' has already reached No. 1.

Though Gilbert has been reluctant to discuss his split with fellow country singer Jana Kramer in interviews, he does address it in another track from the new album, 'I'm Gone.'

“The song’s not written to be mean whatsoever,” he observes. “I’ve always been that way where, if something doesn’t work out the first time, I won’t try to beat a dead horse. It is what it is. I think, with these songs, looking back, the good ones and the bad times, it just reiterates the fact that, we made the right decision. We went for broke, man. We went hard, we went fast. And there’s all those questions that were unanswered for a long time. Do I really know what kind of love is? All of that’s answered. I do. I still love that girl to death.”

'Just As I Am' is currently available for pre-order here.

Gilbert will kick off his Let It Ride Tour on March 27, with Thomas Rhett and Eric Paslay serving as his opening acts. See a list of all of his upcoming shows here.

Brantley Gilbert, ‘Just As I Am’ Track Listing:

1. ‘If You Want a Bad Boy’
2. ’17 Again’
3. ‘Bottoms Up’
4. ‘That Was Us’
5. ‘I’m Gone’
6. ‘My Baby’s Guns N’ Roses’
7. ‘Lights of My Hometown’
8. ‘One Hell of an Amen’
9. ‘Small Town Throwdown’
10. ‘Let It Ride’
11. ‘My Faith In You’