The National Music Council (NMC) has announced the recipients of their 2015 American Eagle Awards, which honor individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the culture of American music.

This year, the council has selected Kris Kristofferson, Charley Pride and Jim Lauderdale as honorees, as well as manager Jim Halsey and producer/director Sherman Halsey. The awards are set to be presented on July 11 in Nashville, with special awards also going to the Nashville Mayor's Office, Metro Nashville Public School and the CMA Foundation for their roles in the Music Makes Us education initiative.

The 2015 honorees were chosen "not just for the incredible gifts they have given generations of music lovers throughout the world with their creative output, but also for their dedication to encouraging young musicians and potential musicians through their great support and commitment to music education,” says NMC Director Dr. David Sanders.

Rosanne Cash, the Oak Ridge Boys, John Oates and Jack Ingram will help laud this year's honorees during the ceremony.

The NMC was founded in 1940 with the goal of emphasizing the importance of music in the growth of the nation. Kristofferson, Pride and Lauderdale join a prestigious list of former American Eagle Award recipients, including Quincy Jones, Herbie Hancock, Clive Davis, Benny Goodman, Lionel Hampton, Dizzy Gillespie, Dave Brubeck, Marian Anderson, Lena Horne, Roy Clark, Elliott Carter, the Oak Ridge Boys, Roberta Peters and Stephen Sondheim.

In addition to the awards ceremony, the event will feature a special presentation of a New York Emmy-winning animated film that attempts to open a dialog with kids about the importance of not using another artist's work without permission. Proceeds from the event will go to the NMC's efforts to improve music education. More information is available at