Shelby Lynne wants to wish you a 'Merry Christmas,' and she's doing it a little early with the October 12 release of her first-ever holiday CD.

'Merry Christmas' will be the singer-songwriter's second album on her Everso label, following 'Tear, Lies and Alibis,' which came out earlier this year. The album, which Shelby produced, will feature two original tunes she penned for the project: 'Ain't Nothin' Like Christmas' and 'Xmas,' which will feature saxphonist Dave Koz.

"I've always wanted to do a Christmas record and now that I have my own label, the time seemed right," says Shelby.

Also included is Shelby's version of bluegrass icon Bill Monroe's 'Christmastime's a-Comin',' a song which she was drawn to, she says, because, "I liked its back-porch, family vibe."

The cover of the disc will feature a four-year-old Shelby playing in the snow in the front yard of her Mobile, Alabama, home.

'Merry Christmas' track listing:

'Sleigh Ride/Winter Wonderland'

'Ain't Nothin' Like Christmas'

'Christmas Time Is Here'

'Silver Bells'

'Christmastime's a-Comin'

'O Holy Night

'Santa Claus Is Coming to Town'


'Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer'

'Silent Night'

'White Christmas'