Cody Canada and the Departed have announced the release of their new album 'HippieLovePunk.'

It's been four years since Canada's band Cross Canadian Ragweed called it quits, but the new album from the Departed carries a similar sound to Ragweed releases. The reason for the change in sound from the Departed's first two albums could be that Seth James is no longer lending guitar and vocals to the band, leaving Canada in full control.

"I think some of the things we did on the last record were a little out of my element," Canada tells Rolling Stone Country. "I wasn't leading. I know that sounds cocky, but I've been the leader for so long. When the Departed started, it was me and Seth sharing that role. We both got tired of that situation, and I think we were both ready to lead again.

"This record is back to a comfort zone for me. It's me writing the songs. It's me sharing my opinion," he adds. "We've hit a few bumps in the road with this band because people have been wanting the Ragweed sound, and I think we're kind of getting back to that."

The album is set for release on Jan. 13 and features a couple of songs inspired by the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012. The event had a big impact on Canada, who is a father of two.

"Most musicians live in a bubble. You play a show, have a few cocktails, smoke some weed, wake up, repeat. You feel so protected and so safe until you turn on the news, and then you're scared," he says. "I've always been a literal writer, and I think having kids made me pay attention to what's happening in the world."

'HippieLovePunk' is available for preorder here.

Cody Canada and the Departed, 'HippieLovePunk' Track Listing:

1. 'Comin to Me'
2. 'Inbetweener'
3. 'Easy'
4. 'Revolution'
5. 'Back Closer'
6. 'Got It'
7. 'Great Big Nothin'
8. 'Maker'
9. 'Stay'
10. 'Boss Of Me'
11. 'All Nighter'