After years of working on a new solo album, the Eagles' Timothy B. Schmit has released Leap of Faith. The record dropped on Sept. 23.

Schmit's touring schedule with the Eagles made progress on Leap of Faith's 12 tracks slow, but Glenn Frey's death in January kick-started the project. According to Rolling Stone Country, the Eagles guitarist's death left Schmit in need of a musical outlet.

“Over the last 10 years or so, I’ve felt like I’m finally getting the hang what it is I do best,” Schmit says on his website. “Although this project took some time to complete, this is what I came up with … This is who I am. This is a Leap of Faith.”

Schmit recorded Leap of Faith at his home studio in California. He co-produced the disc with Hank Linderman, who also worked on the Eagles' most recent album, 2007's Long Road Out of Eden, and Don Henley's latest solo project, 2015's Cass County.

“I hired Hank quite a few years ago to help me learn how to maneuver through my then-new demo studio," Schmit explains. "But as the studio grew, I eventually chose to concentrate on my craft, so I put him in charge of the technical part, among other things. He is an excellent engineer, musician and singer."

Leap of Faith marks the first Eagles-related release since Frey's death, and is Schmit's first solo project since 2009's Expando. Schmit wrote all of the album's tracks himself.

"In any collaboration, one has to make a series of compromises. That’s not a bad thing, it’s simply not what I’ve chosen to do with this project," Schmit notes. "I’m just putting it out there, and maybe some of these ideas might resonate with listeners.”

Leap of Faith is available for download on iTunes. A complete track listing is below.

Timothy B. Schmit, Leap of Faith Track Listing:

1. "My Hat"
2. "Slow Down"
3. "All Those Faces"
4. "I Refuse"
5. "What I Should Do"
6. "Goodbye, My Love"
7. "You're So Wild"
8. "It's Alright"
9. "Red Dirt Road"
10. "The Island"
11. "Pearl on the String"
12. "This Waltz"

More of 2016's New Country Albums