Nickel Creek's Sean Watkins has announced the release of a new solo project, entitled What to Fear.

"Where we get our information is very important," Watkins tells Rolling Stone Country. "Fear can keep us safe, but it can also cause us to make harsh reactionary decisions that we regret later. This idea is not novel by any means. It's always been around, but right now, I feel like it is particularly relevant."

The album's title track, which readers can hear below, takes aim at the fear tactics used by the media -- an especially important topic during the 2016 election cycle.

"Ever since I was a kid, I always thought it was so funny when some news anchor would say something like, 'Are the shoes you're wearing giving you cancer? Stay tuned for the answer right after this!' and then an ad comes on that they get paid for," Watkins adds. "It's a pretty simple and genius plan. Basically, the more fear they can conjure up, the more money they make."

What to Fear is set for release by Thirty Tigers on March 18; a complete track listing is below. The project is available for pre-order from Amazon and iTunes, and fans can hear another of its songs, "Keep Your Promises II," on Watkins' official website.

Sean Watkins, What to Fear Track Listing:

1. "What to Fear"
2. "Last Time for Everything"
3. "I Am What You Want"
4. "Keep Your Promises II"
5. "Everything"
6. "Where You Were Living"
7. "Too Little Too Late"
8. "Local Honey"
9. "Tribulations"
10. "Back on My Feet"

Listen to Sean Watkins, "What to Fear":

More of 2016's New Country Releases

More From TheBoot