Country fans woke up to a surprise on Friday morning (Dec. 7): Superstar vocal group Rascal Flatts have shared a new EP, Jukebox, that takes a look back at four classic hits and offers the trio's own trademark spin on the iconic tunes. According to a press release, the idea for the EP was inspired by one of the band's favorite parts of their live show, where they perform a medley of some of their favorite hits.

Tracks included on the new project include Foreigner's iconic 1977 hit "Feels Like the First Time," Hall & Oates' "You Make My Dreams Come True," Kenny Loggins' "Heart to Heart" and Huey Lewis and the News' "Do You Believe in Love." The latter song will be available exclusively to Amazon Music Unlimited subscribers. Readers can purchase and stream the new album here.

Courtesy of The GreenRoom PR
Courtesy of The GreenRoom PR

"We always enjoy songs that resonate with each of us individually, that we can all relate to," Rascal Flatts' Gary LeVox explains. "These four tracks are just that, the handpicked, personal favorites and the ones we love collectively with our own fingerprint on them."

The country trio recently released their latest single, "Back to Life," which is currently climbing the country charts. Despite the new music -- and the release of the new covers EP -- the group has stated that they're not necessarily planning a full-length album of their own anytime soon. At the time, they hinted at one (or more!) unconventional projects in the works, saying that "we may do a country cover batch, we may do a hair metal band batch of songs," but that they were enjoying taking a break from the traditional formula of releasing singles and albums.

How Well Do You REALLY Know Rascal Flatts?

More From TheBoot