Mike Aiken is giving readers of The Boot an exclusive first look at the video for his new song, 'Dance With the Wind.'

The track is taken from 'Captains & Cowboys,' his sixth studio album. The singer-songwriter brings an unusual sensibility to the project, drawing on a set of colorful life experiences that include a stint as a self-sufficient farmer. Aiken has spent the last 20 years living aboard his 42-foot sailboat, traveling all over the world.

'Captains & Cowboys' draws on his influences in folk, country, rock and roots music, bringing them together into one seamless whole. The album features top players including Dan Dugmore (James Taylor, Little Big Town) on pedal steel , Tammy Rogers (Grammy-nominated SteelDrivers) on fiddle and mandolin , Michael Webb (Poco) on accordion, bass and B3  and Michael Grando (Todd Snider, Chris Knight) on drums. Aiken also enlisted Dan Baird (Georgia Satellites) and Ben Strano (Jack Sundrud/Poco) to produce the new album, marking the first time he's worked with outside producers.

"The album was two years in the making," Aiken states. "I'd written many tunes during that time but not many made it onto this record. They weren't bad, but the fit wasn't right," he adds.

When he finally found the right fit, the result was an album of very diverse material that has become a critical success, mixing the best of Aiken's influences like Gordon Lightfoot, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and Billy Joe Shaver into something uniquely his own. The songs range from serious ecological concerns to carefree celebrations of Aiken's unique world view.

‘Captains & Cowboys’ is available from Northwind Records. Purchase the entire album here.

More From TheBoot