Loretta Lynn is among the 16 honorees chosen to receive this year's Presidential Medal of Freedom. President Obama announced this year's recipients on Thursday (Aug. 8).

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest civilian honor in America. This year's other honorees include Oprah Winfrey, former president Bill Clinton and Chicago Cubs legend Ernie Banks. Lynn and jazz trumpeter, pianist and composer Arturo Sandoval are the only musicians among this year's selections.

The honor is presented to individuals "who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the US, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors."

“The Presidential Medal of Freedom goes to men and women who have dedicated their own lives to enriching ours," President Obama said in Thursday's announcement. "This year's honorees have been blessed with extraordinary talent, but what sets them apart is their gift for sharing that talent with the world. It will be my honor to present them with a token of our nation's gratitude."

The awards will be presented in a ceremony at the White House later this year.

More From TheBoot