The members of up-and-coming band Levon have reason to celebrate: The group has signed jointly with Sony Music’s Columbia Nashville and Epic Records.

Friends Michael David Hall (lead vocals / guitar), Jake Singleton (bass / percussion) and Ryan Holladay (mandolin / guitar) make up Levon. The group derived their name from the Band‘s Levon Helm, and Elton John’s song “Levon;" the trio's three members are all in their 20s, but, as those inspirations suggest, they're fans of the 1970s "Lauren Canyon Sound."

Levon have the spent the past couple of years opening for artists such as Alabama, Kelsea Ballerini, Florida Georgia Line, Maddie & Tae and Chase Rice. In September, The Boot premiered their single "Why Oh Why," an upbeat and funky track about letting the love of your life walk all over you.

“We wanted to release [“Why Oh Why”] first because it captures the band’s vibe really well,” Levon told The Boot at the time. “For the past couple years, its usually been the first song we play in our concerts and immediately grabs the listeners’ attention. Most people end up singing along even though its their first time hearing the song.”

Levon's dual deal with Columbia Nashville and Epic Records will give them exposure to both country and pop audiences. Fans can purchase "Why Oh Why" on iTunes now and keep up-to-date with the band through their website.

New Artists to Watch in 2017

More From TheBoot