The ACM Award for Song of the Year often goes to a track that makes a huge emotional impact, and that was again the case this year, as Lee Brice's 'I Drive Your Truck' earned the 2014 honor for its songwriters, Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, and Jimmy Yeary.

Though Brice is an accomplished songwriter himself, he did not pen this one. Even though his heartfelt performance helped make the song a hit, upon reaching the stage Brice said, "This is not for me," and turned the podium over to Harrington and Alexander.

Acknowledging that many Americans can relate to the story of losing a loved one in military action, a teary-eyed Harrington said, "To every person in America who knows what it's like to live the words of this song, God bless you."

'I Drive Your Truck' triumphed over its co-nominees 'Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain),' 'Mama’s Broken Heart,' 'Mine Would Be You,' and 'Wagon Wheel.'

More From TheBoot