Jason Aldean won the 2015 ACM Award for Male Vocalist of the Year on Sunday night (April 19), beating an impressive group of nominees to claim the honor for the third consecutive year.

The singer earned an immediate standing ovation from his peers as he walked up to accept the award from presenter Trisha Yearwood. Aldean mentioned that the award was special since the first concert he ever played as an opening act was with Yearwood.

"I'm really stunned. I don't know what else to say," Aldean added. "Three years in a row ... Thank you guys for letting me do this another year."

If Aldean keeps winning, he will be on the verge of making history. Brad Paisley was just presented with a Guinness World Record for his record of five straight wins in this category, and Aldean is now just two wins away from tying him.

Male Vocalist of the Year was an extra-competitive category this year, with six nominees instead of the standard five. Aldean competed for the honor with Dierks Bentley, Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Paisley and Blake Shelton.

Big Moments in ACM Awards History

How Well Do You Know the ACM Awards?