Charlie Daniels might be one of the most revered musicians of this generation, but the country music legend still has his own musical idols. The singer is paying homage to one of them, Bob Dylan, with his upcoming album, 'Off the Grid - Doin' It Dylan.'

The new record includes Daniels' spin on 10 of Dylan's biggest hits, including 'Mr. Tambourine Man,' 'I Shall Be Released' and 'I'll Be Your Baby Tonight.'

“It was about 50 years ago when I first became aware of Bob Dylan -- and no, I was not naive enough to think I could swim in the same stream, try to emulate what he had done, or cop his licks. Nobody could do that,” Daniels recalls. “My ambitions were to provoke some thought, to color the imagery of my songs, to think outside the box of conformity -- in other words to be myself.”

The 77-year-old first became aware of the rock icon when he played on a few of Dylan's early records, including 'Nashville Skyline.' He says that even then, he realized Dylan was changing the face of music.

“Whatever it was Bob Dylan meant by his lyrics, they grabbed the attention of the world and changed the face of music forever,” he explains. “He inspired musicians to knock down the restrictive, bubble gum, three minute a side, Tin Pan Alley world that set the parameters of popular music and turn their creative minds loose in a thousand new directions.”

The Grand Ole Opry member, who has released more than 50 of his own albums, says he is still in awe of Dylan's creativity.

“Bob Dylan basically defies description and trying to figure out what he may do next is tantamount to trying to guess which number a roulette ball is going to land on," he adds. "After 50 years he remains the unrivaled free thinker with the talent and the nerve to follow his musical star wherever it takes him."

'Off the Grid - Doin' It Dylan' will be available on April 1. See a complete track listing below.

Charlie Daniels, 'Off The Grid – Doin’ It Dylan' Track Listing:

1. 'Tangled Up in Blue'
2. 'The Times They Are a Changin’'
3. 'I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight'
4. 'Gotta Serve Somebody'
5. 'I Shall Be Released'
6.'Country Pie'
7. 'Mr. Tambourine Man'
8. 'A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall'
9. 'Just Like a Woman'
10. 'Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)'