Country stalwart Charlie Daniels is back with a brand-new album, set for release on Oct. 26. Featuring world-class drummer James Stroud, guitarist Billy Crain and Charlie Hayward on bass, Daniels says that the album is something that they've been plotting for a long time.

"Beau Weevils -- Songs in the Key of E is the culmination of a long held desire of James Stroud and myself to do a project together," Daniels says in a press release. "We had worked together, with James in the capacity of producer, which had resulted in some of our most successful albums for the Charlie Daniels Band, but James is one of the finest and most soulful drummers in the business and I figured we could get together, musician to musician, and come up with something special. We just needed a vehicle in the form of songs that would fit the bill."

Daniels says that those songs come in the form of a "down-home, swampy rock meets funk with a little taste of Delta-type of style." Stroud, who has played for acts such as the Pointer Sisters and Bob Seger, also produced iconic albums for country artists including Tim McGraw and Clint Black. Crain, who is the brother of Daniels' late guitarist Tommy Crain, has played with legends including the Allman Brothers, ZZ Top and the Rolling Stones. Hayward, Daniels' longtime guitarist takes a turn on bass for this album; he has also notched credits playing bass and guitar with the Allman Brothers and Dr. John over the course of his career.

Blue Hat Records
Blue Hat Records

"The whole thing started one day when I, as I often do, was fooling around with my guitar and came up with the opening riff on a song that eventually turned out to be "Mudcat,"" Daniels recalls. "That song set the style for the rest of the songs I would write, that all lent themselves to being played in the key of E, hence the title."

Daniels wrote or co-wrote every track on the album, which was produced by Stroud and Casey Wood, along with Daniels' manager David Corlew at the helm as executive producer. The new album is available for pre-order on Amazon now.

Charlie Daniels, Beau Weevils -- Songs in the Key of E Track Listing:

  1. "Geechi Geechi Ya Ya Blues"
  2. "Bad Blood"
  3. "Mexico Again"
  4. "Louisiana Blues"
  5. "Oh, Juanita"
  6. "Smokey's Got Your Number"
  7. "Mudcat"
  8. "Everybody's Gotta Go Sometime"
  9. "We'll All Have Some"
  10. "How We Roll"

More From TheBoot