The countdown to Casey James' debut album is on! One week from today, on March 20, the 'American Idol' alum will release his self-titled CD on BNA Records. All this week and next week, he's revealing a new song or video from the project, with today's right here on The Boot! (See the full schedule here.) Listen below to the exclusive premiere of 'The Good Life,' which Casey co-wrote with famed Nashville songwriter Scooter Carusoe.

Listen to 'The Good Life'

"I was just messin' around on the guitar. That's the way 99 percent of songs get written ... for me, anyway. It has to come out in a natural way," Casey tells The Boot of the writing session for this fun, uptempo track. "I said, 'Man, I'd really like to write a song about life being good, because I feel that way right now. Good things are coming, and I'm in a good place.'"

'The Good Life' was a last-minute addition to Casey's album. Very last minute. He recorded it just a half hour after writing it, and later decided to make it the very first track on the project.

In celebration of next week's album release, Casey is giving away a trip to see a live taping of 'American Idol'! Click here to enter and read all about the contest.

'Casey James' Track List:

1. 'The Good Life' (Casey James/Scooter Carusoe)

2. 'Crying On a Suitcase' (Lee Thomas Miller/Tom Shapiro/Neil Thrasher)

3. 'Let's Don't Call It a Night' (Casey James/Brice Long/Terry McBride)

4. 'Drive' (Casey James/Brad Warren/Brett Warren)

5. 'Love the Way You Miss Me' (Casey James/Brice Long/Terry McBride)

6. 'Undone' (Casey James/Scooter Carusoe)

7. 'So Sweet (Casey James/Dallas Davidson/Patrick Davis)

8. 'She's Money' (Casey James/Jaren Johnston)

9. 'Tough Love' (Casey James/Brett James/David Lee Murphy)

10. 'Workin' On It' (Bob DiPiero/Brandon Kinney/Daniel Tashian)

11. 'Miss Your Fire' (Casey James/Chris Lindsey/Aimee Mayo)

Watch Casey James' 'Let's Don't Call It a Night' Video

More From TheBoot