Country superstars Alan Jackson and Garth Brooks will be inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in the Songwriter-Artist category, joining top-notch tunesmiths Allen Shamblin, John Bettis and Thom Schuyer as the 2011 inductees.

Alan has penned or co-penned 24 of his 35 No. 1 singles, including his CMA Song of the Year winners 'Chattahoochee' and 'Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning).' The poignant, self-penned tune inspired by the events of 9/11 also took home the Best Country Song trophy during the 2002 Grammy Awards. Additionally, Alan has written No. 1 singles for other country artists, including Clay Walker's 'If I Could Make a Living' and Randy Travis' 'A Better Class of Losers.'

Garth is responsible for writing several of his chart-topping hits, including 'If Tomorrow Never Comes,' 'What She's Doing Now' and 'The Beaches of Cheyenne.' The best-selling solo artist of the 20th century, Garth has two Grammy awards and 11 CMAs in his spectacular trophy case that holds countless other honors. The Oklahoma native was also inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in New York earlier this summer.

Alan, Garth and their fellow honorees will be inducted during the 41st annual Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony, set for October 16 at Nashville's Renaissance Hotel.

if(typeof AOLVP_cfg==='undefined')AOLVP_cfg=[];AOLVP_cfg.push({id:'AOLVP_1080931866001','codever':0.1,'autoload':false,'autoplay':false,'displaymnads':true,'playerid':'89761511001','videoid':'1080931866001','width':476,'height':357,'playertype':'inline','stillurl':'dynamic','videolink':'#','videotitle':'dynamic','videodesc':''});

More From TheBoot