As the release of Cyndi Lauper's upcoming country project approaches, the pop icon has started to share more information about the album.

Lauper may be best known for '80s mega hits such as "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" and "True Colors," but the singer says that releasing an album of country covers, aptly titled Detour, isn't actually that much of a stretch, especially considering what music was considered "pop" at the time she was growing up.

“When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music, so this is what we grew up listening to," she writes on her website. "These songs are part of some of my earliest memories.”

The tracks that Lauper covers on her new album come from the decades between the 1940s and '60s, and while the songs on Detour are pure country in and of themselves, the singer is adding to the disc's country clout with collaborations with some of the genre's biggest icons, including Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris, Vince Gill, Jewel and Willie Nelson, the latter of whom had a major impact on Lauper when they first met.

“I tried to be professional, but you know when you’re overwhelmed — when he came in, I almost cried,” she recalls to tells Entertainment Weekly.

Detour is set for release on May 6. A full track listing can be seen below.

Cyndi Lauper, Detour Track Listing:

1. "Funnel of Love"
2. "Detour" feat. Emmylou Harris
3. "Misty Blue"
4. "Walkin’ After Midnight"
5. "Heartaches By the Number"
6. "The End of the World"
7. "Night Life" feat. Willie Nelson
8. "Begging to You"
9. "You’re the Reason Our Kids Are Ugly" feat. Vince Gill
10. "I Fall to Pieces"
11. "I Want to Be a Cowboy’s Sweetheart" feat. Jewel
12. "Hard Candy Christmas" feat. Alison Krauss

Artists Who Have Unexpectedly Released Country Projects

More From TheBoot