Contact Us

Sassparilla Release Set of Two Albums

sassparilla album cover
Courtesy of In Music We Trust

Americana band Sassparilla have released a 19-track set, containing two separate albums.

‘Pasajero’ and ‘Hullabaloo’ have two distinct sounds, with ‘Pasajero’ sticking true to the what fans have come to expect from the band’s last two albums, while ‘Hullabaloo’ offers a glimpse of their live sound.

“I’ve always maintained that bands wear two hats, the live show and the recorded product,” says songwriter and front man Kevin Blackwell. “With our last two releases, we made studio records. Songs that could be performed live, but with a different energy or spin on them. The recorded product was something I saw as a different entity. With those albums I wanted a recording folks could listen to over and over again and find things they hadn’t heard the first couple of times.”

‘Pasajero’ follows a traditional studio album approach, but ‘Hullabaloo’ was recorded in Blackwell’s attic, with the recording flaws left in during production.

“There aren’t multiple takes, there aren’t overdubs,” Blackwell says. “It’s us with our pants down. It was recorded mostly in my attic between diaper changes and arguments; a couple borrowed mics, a borrowed compressor, and the simplistic genius of Apple’s Logic.”

‘Hullabaloo’ also features only the five members of Sassparilla, while Blackwell brought in other artists and friends to achieve the sound on ‘Pasajero.’

Both albums are available for download via iTunes. Upcoming tour dates can be found at

Sassparilla, ‘Pasajero’ Track Listing:

1. ‘Overture’
2. ‘Dark Star’
3. ‘Cool Thing’
4. ‘What the Devil Don’t Know’
5. ‘The One That Got Away’
6. ‘Peaches’
7. ‘You Get What You Deserve’
8. ‘When You’re the Devil’
9. ‘Radio Child’

Sassparilla, ‘Hullabaloo’ Track Listing:

1. ‘Through the Fence’
2. ‘Early in the Morning’
3. ‘Cocaine’
4. ‘We Are Bold’
5. ‘It Ain’t Easy’
6. ‘Folks Like Us’
7. ‘Wicked Take Care of Their Own’
8. ‘Why You Making It Hard’
9. ‘The Devil’
10. ‘The Hoot Song’

Next: Is Traditional Country Music Dead?

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of The Boot

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Boot quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!