Contact Us

Lucinda Williams Announces New Double Album

Lucinda Williams
Frederick M. Brown, Getty Images

Lucinda Williams is set to release a new double album this fall.

‘Down Where the Spirit Meets the Bone,’ the singer’s first release of new songs since 2011’s ‘Blessed,’ will hit stores on Sept. 30.

“We went in the studio and recorded 35 new songs,” Williams tells the Tallahassee Democrat. “I’ve been learning how to write different styles of songs. The new stuff is going to blow you away.”

Twenty of those songs made it onto the two-disc record, which will be released on Williams’ label, Highway 20 Records. One song on the album, ‘Compassion,’ is based on a poem by her father, Miller WIlliams.

“I found out it’s hard to take a poem and make it a song,” the singer says. “But now I think I figured out the formula. I repeated a lot lines, but I stayed true to the lyric.”

“I’ve matured as a writer,” she adds. “I’ve become more confident. I’m kind of spreading out a little.”

Lucinda Williams ‘Down Where the Spirit Meets the Bone’ Track Listing:

Disc One:

1. ‘Compassion’
2. ‘Protection’
3. ‘Burning Bridges’
4. ‘East Side of Town’
5. ‘West Memphis’
6. ‘Cold Day in Hell’
7. ‘Foolishness’
8. ‘Wrong Number’
9. ‘Stand Right by Each Other’
10. ‘It’s Gonna Rain’

Disc Two:

1. ‘Something Wicked This Way Comes’
2. ‘Big Mess’
3. ‘When I Look at the World’
4. ‘Walk On’
5. ‘Temporary Nature (Of Any Precious Thing)’
6. ‘Everything But the Truth’
7. ‘This Old Heartache’
8. ‘Stowaway in Your Heart’
9. ‘One More Day’
10. ‘Magnolia’

Next: The Top Country Love Songs

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of The Boot

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Boot quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!