Freshman duo Florida Georgia Line won the first award of the evening at the 2013 CMA Awards. The duo, composed of Tyer Hubbard and Brian Kelley, took home Single of the Year honors for their smash hit single, 'Cruise.'

The pair were virtually unknown a year ago, but they have rocketed to practically overnight superstar status with the song, which is a clever amalgam of country and contemporary pop elements.

The pair appeared stunned, thanking "the Lord," producer Joey Moi, their families and "our amazing, amazing fans" for their astounding success.

They also thanked country radio, where the song spent a record-breaking streak at No. 1

The pair also helped kick off the show with Luke Bryan. They have additional nominations as Vocal Duo of the Year and New Artist of the Year.