Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell are joining together once again for a new album, The Traveling Kind.

The project will be released on May 12 on Nonesuch Records.

"In the words of Willie Nelson, 'The life I love is making music with my friends,' and there's no better friend for me to make music with than Rodney," Harris shares in a statement. "I can't wait to get out there on the road with him and play the songs from this new record."

Adds Crowell, "Emmy and I wrote six of the 11 songs on The Traveling Kind, which was recorded in a six-day span with our Glory Band, Steuart Smith and Billy Payne. Joe Henry was at the helm as producer, and Justin Neibank did the recording. The experience was pretty much akin to falling off a log."

The Traveling Kind allows Crowell and Harris' voices to take center stage, rather than relying on heavy orchestration.

“It’s just me and Rodney singing,” Harris says. “I don’t know how different that will be ... We wanted to change things up just a little bit, but basically it’s just two friends singing together.”

Harris and Crowell co-wrote the title track with songwriter Cory Chisel, who says that the entire experience was surreal.

"Being in the room as "The Traveling Kind" came into full view was a spiritual experience for me," Chisel, who also wrote "You Can't Say We Didn't Try," tells Rolling Stone Country. "Having my hands in the paint next to my heroes was one of the creative high points of my life."

The Traveling Kind is available for pre-order on iTunes now; a vinyl version of the record will be released on June 2. See a complete track listing and hear the title track below.

Harris and Crowell will play a series of shows in support of the record, including stops in California and South Carolina and some concerts in Australia. All of the dates are available on Harris' website.

Rodney Crowell and Emmylou Harris, The Traveling Kind Track Listing:

1. "The Traveling Kind"
2. "No Memories Hanging Around"
3. "Bring It on Home to Memphis"
4. "You Can’t Say We Didn’t Try"
5. "The Weight of the World"
6. "Higher Mountains"
7. "I Just Wanted to See You So Bad"
8. "Just Pleasing You"
9. "If You Lived Here, You’d Be Home Now"
10. "Her Hair Was Red"
11. "La Danse de la Joie"

Listen to Rodney Crowell and Emmylou Harris, "The Traveling Kind":