Contact Us

Everything You Need to Know About the 2017 ACM Honors

10th Annual ACM Honors - Show
Getty Images for ACM

In August, the Academy of Country Music will host the 11th annual ACM Honors ceremony at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. Country artists such as Eric Church, Dolly Parton and Kelsea Ballerini will all receive awards during the event, for their various contributions to country music; fans across the country will get to watch the ceremony on TV at a later date.

From when and where to who’s being honored, below is everything you need to know about the 2017 ACM Honors festivities.

What Are the ACM Honors?

The ACM Honors ceremony celebrates special honorees and category winners whose awards presentations didn’t make the ACM Awards broadcast, which aired back in April. The night’s honorees include the winners of the ACM’s Special Awards, Industry Awards and Studio Recording Awards, as well as 2017’s Songwriter of the Year recipient.

When Are the 2017 ACM Honors?

Now in its 11th year, the 2017 ACM Honors ceremony will take place at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on Aug. 23.

How Can I Watch the 2017 ACM Honors?

in 2016, the ACM Honors ceremony was broadcast on CBS for the first time ever, a few days after it took place in Nashville. The 2017 ACM Honors ceremony will air on CBS on Sept. 15 at 9PM ET.

Who’s Hosting the 2017 ACM Honors?

Last year, country trio Lady Antebellum hosted the ACM Honors show. The host for the 2017 ACM Honors has not been announced just yet, but The Boot will share that information here when it’s available.

Who’s Being Honored at the 2017 ACM Honors?

In addition to ACM Studio Recording Awards winners and Industry Awards winners, the 2017 ACM Honors will recognize the following individuals:

  • Kelsea Ballerini will accept the 2017 Gene Weed Milestone Award, celebrating her three consecutive No. 1 singles from her debut album. The newly established honor recognizes an “unprecedented or outstanding achievement in the field of country music during the preceding calendar year” and combines the ACM’s Crystal Milestone Award and Gene Weed Special Achievement Awards.
  • Eric Church will receive the Merle Haggard Spirit Award, which recognizes how Church “epitomiz[es] Merle’s spirit through genuine performances and great storytelling.” Miranda Lambert won the first-ever Merle Haggard Spirit Award in 2016. (According to a press release from the ACM, Church will accept his honor at a later date.)
  • In honor of her extensive humanitarian work, especially in the aftermath of the wildfires that ripped through East Tennessee in late 2016, Dolly Parton will receive the Gary Haber Lifting Lives Award. A new combination of the ACM’s Humanitarian Award and Gary Haber Lifting Lives Award, the honor “is presented to a country music artist, duo / group or industry professional who is devoted to improving lives through the power of music, has a generosity of spirit and is committed to serving others,” and its winner is determined by the ACM Lifting Lives board of directors.
  • George Strait will receive the Cliffie Stone Icon Award (formerly the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award), which is given to a country music act or industry leader “who, throughout their career, has advanced the popularity of the genre through their contributions in multiple facets of the industry.”
  • Reba McEntire and radio host Bob Kingsley will receive the Mae Boren Axton Service Award, in recognition of their “years of dedication to the Academy of Country Music.”
  • Toby Keith, Willie Nelson and late poet Shel Silverstein will receive the Poet’s Award, in recognition of their contributions to country music songwriting. (According to a press release from the ACM, Nelson will accept his honor at a later date.)
  • CMT’s Nashville will receive the 2017 Tex Ritter Film Award, which “recognizes an outstanding television movie, series or feature film released during the preceding calendar year which prominently features country music.”
  • ACM Songwriter of the Year Lori McKenna will be honored as well.

Who’s Performing at the 2017 ACM Honors?

George Strait, Kelsea Ballerini, Vince Gill, Toby Keith, Little Big TownMaren MorrisBrad PaisleyThomas Rhett and Hillary Scott are all scheduled to perform during the 2017 ACM Honors show.

Who’s Presenting at the 2017 ACM Honors?

Presenters for the 2017 ACM Honors ceremony have not yet been announced either, but we’ll let you know when they have!

Who Will be Attending the 2017 ACM Honors?

This year’s performers, presenters and honorees will, of course, be in attendance, but you never know who else might show up!

17 Fun Behind-the-Scenes Pictures From the 2017 ACM Awards

How Well Do You Know the ACM Awards?

NEXT: More From the 2017 ACM Awards

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of The Boot

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Boot quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!