Steve Earle will have a new album to share with his fans in the new year. 'Terraplane,' an 11-song record, will be released on his longtime label, New West Records, on Feb. 17.

The album's title comes from a 1930s automobile, made by the Hudson Motor Car Company of Detroit, which was also the inspiration for the Robert Johnson song 'Terraplane Blues.' The entire project, which was recorded with Earle's band the Dukes, is a blues-oriented collection, some of which was written while Earle was touring in Europe alone, with just a guitar, mandolin and backpack.

"The blues are anything but superficial," Earle writes in the record's liner notes. "In fact, they run so deep and dark and close to the bone that folks walk around everyday with the blues as though it were perfectly natural for a human being to go on living with a broken heart (apologies to Tony Kushner).

"For my part, I've only ever believed two things about the blues," he continues. "One, that they are very democratic, the commonest of human experience, perhaps the only thing that we all truly share, and two, that one day, when it was time, I would make this record."

The Texas native says a blues-oriented album isn't that much of a stretch, considering the music that shaped his own career.

"There was Fort Worth, where the model was Freddy King, and there was the Houston scene, which was dominated by Lightnin' Hopkins," Earle says. "Two very different styles."

The year 2015 will be a busy one for Earle. In addition to the release of 'Terraplane,' he has a few shows scheduled at New York City's City Winery in January. The 59-year-old also has a memoir, 'I Can't Remember If We Said Goodbye,' coming out, and filming is slated to begin for the movie version of his novel, 'I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive,' with actor Chris Hemsworth taking on the lead role.

See a track listing for 'Terraplane' below. The album will be available for purchase on Feb. 17 here.

Steve Earle & the Dukes, 'Terraplane' Track Listing:

1. 'Baby Baby Baby (Baby)'
2. 'You're the Best Lover That I Ever Had'
3. 'The Tennessee Kid'
4. 'Ain't Nobody's Daddy Now'
5. 'Better Off Alone'
6. 'The Usual Time'
7. 'Go Go Boots Are Back'
8. 'Acquainted With the Wind'
9. 'Baby's Just as Mean as Me'
10. 'Gamblin' Blues'
11. 'King of the Blues'