Contact Us

Sara Evans Reveals Plans for Female-Focused ‘Words’ Album

Sara Evans Words album cover
Born to Fly Records

With a new record label comes … a new album, naturally! Following the announcement of the launch of her new record label, Born to Fly Records, Sara Evans has revealed her plans for her next studio album, Words.

Due out on July 21, Words will be Evans’ seventh studio album. She hasn’t shared its track listing yet — but she did reveal that 14 female songwriters contributed to the project. In addition to Evans, those names include Ashley Monroe, Caitlyn Smith, Hillary Lindsey, Hillary Scott, Liz Hengber, Sonya Isaacs and more.

“Women are natural storytellers,” Evans says in a press release, “and I’m proud to have so many amazing female songwriters represented on this record.”

The title of her album, Words, is both the name of a song on Evans’ upcoming project and a reflection of what’s important to the singer-songwriter in her music.

20 Country Music Albums Turning 20 in 2017

“When I’m listening to a song, it’s the lyrics and the stories they tell that matter most to me,” Evans explains. “In listening to new music for the record, I was always looking for lyrics that moved me and expressed a powerful range of emotions.”

Mark Bright, who produced Evans’ 2014 album Slow Me Down and 2005’s A Real Fine Place, also co-produced Words. The press release notes that Evans’ 14-year-old daughter Olivia sings background vocals on the disc.

After parting from Sony Music Nashville’s RCA Nashville at the beginning of 2016, Evans signed with Sugar Hill Records in August of 2016. Born to Fly Records releases will be distributed through Sony Red. Words is available for pre-order via Evans’ official website.

See Sara Evans + More Country Stars Then and Now

NEXT: Top 10 Sara Evans Songs

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of The Boot

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Boot quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!