Rascal Flatts have largely been able to stay away from controversy, until now. The trio, made up of Gary LeVox, Joe Don Rooney and Jay DeMarcus, have sparked a legislative debate in the state of Ohio, thanks to the well-meaning intentions of an Ohio state senator.

Sen. Jim Hughes, acting on the request of a constituent, introduced a bill that would make the Flatts the official country music group of the Buckeye state, the home state of cousins LeVox and DeMarcus.

“They have always been a group that has remained loyal to their roots and have showed their allegiance to the state of Ohio in many ways,” Hughes told members of the Senate’s State Government Oversight and Reform Committee, according to Youngstown newspaper the Vindicator. “Committed to giving back, they are known for their charitable work and have even performed for charities in Ohio.”

He added, “As fellow Buckeyes, I believe they are God-fearing, hardworking, honest men who positively represent our state and all Ohioans.”

Hughes' bill sparked an unexpected debate, with fellow committee members suggesting other acts who might also be suited for the honor, including Grandpa Jones, Dwight Yoakam, Johnny Paycheck and Roy Rogers.

“It seems to me that naming [Rascal Flatts] as the official country act of the state of Ohio does so perhaps to the exclusion of others that are worth considering," Sen. Frank LaRose commented (quote via Country Weekly).

There's no word yet on who will be the official country music act for the state.

Meanwhile, the award-winning trio are making plans for their 2014 Rewind Tour, which will include special guest Sheryl Crow, as well as Gloriana as the opening act. The tour will kick off on May 16 in St. Louis, Mo. See all of their upcoming dates here.