John David Kent will release a second album, 'Before the Sun Comes Up,' on Oct. 1, but readers of The Boot are getting the chance to hear the entire album early.

After Kent ended his stint with the alt-rock group Radish, he built his own studio, started his own record label, and founded a new band in which he is the front man. The group's first full-length record spawned three top 20 singles on the Texas charts, and a hit video on CMT Pure Country.

They took a slightly different approach to the new material, working at Matchbook Studios in Austin, Texas with world-renowned producer Dwight Baker, whose credits include Kelly Clarkson and David Archuleta.

“Dwight works fast, which we had to get used to," Kent states. "It forced us to be in the moment, quick on our toes and to know when to move forward before we started over-thinking it.”

Kent participated extensively in writing the songs for the new album. He co-wrote 'Struck a Nerve' with prominent Nashville songwriters Kendell Marvel and Travis Meadows. The musician also recorded a few songs from fellow artist and longtime friend Jeff Allen, including 'Little Less Lonely' and 'Fight for You.' The lead single from the project is 'Until We Turn Around,' which was released in July.

“It’s a very ‘summer time’ album…it’s a driving album," Kent observes. "I kept seeing this visual of the movie 'Dazed and Confused.'  [In the movie], it’s the last day of school, everyone is in celebratory mode and they want to have this one last kick-ass party. Then everyone goes their separate ways the next day. And that’s what I was trying to convey in the songs and the lyrics, that kind of end of innocence feeling to come across in the songs.”

'Before the Sun Comes Up' is currently available for pre-order here.

Listen to John David Kent, 'Before the Sun Comes Up'