Contact Us

George Strait Proves True ‘Icon’ With Ninth Greatest Hits CD

Rick Diamond, Getty Images

George Strait fans will be getting something old and something new from the country music superstar in the month of September. The singer will release ‘Icon,’ the ninth greatest hits package of his illustrious career, on September 13, with his latest studio album, ‘Here for a Good Time,‘ dropping on September 6.

‘George Strait: Icon’ will feature 11 tracks, including ‘I Saw God Today,’ which won the 2008 CMA Awards Single of the Year trophy. Also included is 2007 ACM Awards Single and Song of the Year, ‘Give It Away,’ which marked King George’s 41st No. 1 single, breaking Conway Twitty‘s previous record with the most No. 1 songs on Billboard’s Country Songs chart.

To date, George has had 57 chart-topping tunes and has sold nearly 69 million albums domestically. According to the RIAA, he is the 12th best-selling recording artist in the United states overall.


‘Icon’ Track Listing

1. ‘Amarillo By Morning’
2. ‘Ocean Front Property’
3 ‘All My Ex’s Live in Texa
4. ‘Love Without End, Amen’
5. ‘I Cross My Heart’
6. ‘Check Yes or No’
7. ‘I Just Want to Dance With You’
8. ‘Living and Living Well’
9. ‘Give It Away’
10. ‘I Saw God Today’
11. ‘River of Love’

‘Here for a Good Time’ is the singer’s first studio album since his 2009 record, ‘Twang.’ The new collection features the Top 15 title track, as well as ‘A Showman’s Life,’ with fellow country singer Faith Hill providing background vocals. The 59-year-old singer penned seven of the album’s 11 tracks, more than all of his past featured co-writes combined.


‘Here for a Good Time’ Track Listing

1. ‘Love’s Gonna Make It Alright’
2. ‘Drinkin’ Man’
3. ‘Shame on Me’
4. ‘Poison’
5. ‘Here for a Good Time’
6. ‘House Across the Bay’
7. ‘Lone Star Blues’
8. ‘A Showman’s Life’
9. ‘Three Nails and a Cross’
10. ‘Blue Marlin Blues’*
11. ‘I’ll Always Remember You’

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of The Boot

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Boot quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!