Gary Allan will take fans through a range of emotions on Jan. 22, the day his ninth studio album, Set You Free, hits stores.

"Looking at song titles, when I laid it out the very first time it read like a breakup," Gary tells The Boot, explaining the track order of the new project. "The first song was 'Tough Goodbye' and the last song was 'Good as New,' and it covers everything in the middle, from spinning out on alcohol and drugs, to anger, to reflection."

The second track on the album is its uplifting first single, "Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain)," from which the project also gets its title. "Set you free" is taken from a line in the tune, which was co-written by Gary, Hillary Lindsey and Matt Warren. "That's like the flavor of every song on there," explains the country star of the album title's significance. "The whole album has hope and was timely for me, too. I've waited a long time to get back on the radio."

Gary co-wrote five of the album's 12 songs, hand-picking the other seven tracks, just as he's done for every album in his discography. "When you take other people's opinions, you end up flailing and you have no center," he explains of his hands-on approach to choosing songs. "I watch people do this in the music business all the time."

Pre-order Gary Allan's Set You Free here.

Set You Free Track List:

1. "Tough Goodbye"

2. "Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain)"

3. "Bones"

4. "It Ain't The Whiskey"

5. "Sand In My Soul"

6. "You Without Me"

7. "One More Time"

8. "Hungover Heart"

9. "No Worries"

10. "Drop"

11. "Pieces"

12. "Good As New"

Watch Gary's 'Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain)' Video