Contact Us

Americana Music Awards Nominations Announced

Rosanne Cash
Frederick Breedon IV, Getty Images

The nominees for the 2014 Americana Music Awards have been announced.

Rosanne Cash, Jason Isbell and Robert Ellis lead the pack of nominees with three each for Artist, Album and Song of the Year. Rodney Crowell joins the pack in the Artist of the Year category.

Sarah Jarosz‘ ‘Build Me Up From Bones’ sits alongside Cash’s ‘The River and the Thread,’ Isbell’s ‘Southeastern’ and Ellis’ ‘The Lights From the Chemical Plant’ in the Album of the Year category. Patty Griffin joins them with ‘Ohio,’ which is up for Song of the Year.

Nominees for Duo/Group of the Year are the Avett Brothers, the Devil Makes Three, Hard Working Americans, Lake Street Drive and the Milk Carton Kids, with Hurray for the Riff Raff, Parker Millsap, S. Paul & the Broken Bones, Strugill Simpson and Valerie June up for Emerging Act awards.

Nominees for Best Instrumentalist are Larry Campbell, Fats Kaplin, Bryan Sutton and Buddy Miller, who will be leading the house band at the awards ceremony with Kaplin, Ry Cooder, Don Was, Joachim Cooder, Tim Lauer and the McRary Sisters.

The ceremony is set for Sept. 17 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. Highlights from the event will air this fall on ‘ACL Presents: Americana Music Festival 2014.’

Next: Is Traditional Country Music Dead?

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of The Boot

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Boot quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!