Contact Us

ACM Achievement Awards Announced

Kris Kristofferson Carrie Underwood Toby Keith
Kevork Djansezian / Rick Diamond / Christopher Polk, Getty Images

The 49th annual ACM Awards are still a week away, but we already know the names of some of the winners.

Carrie Underwood, Rascal Flatts, Kris Kristofferson, Dean Dillon, Toby Keith and Ronnie Milsap are all recipients of ACM Achievement Awards. The winners will be presented with their trophy at a special, off-camera ceremony on Sept. 9 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Underwood will receive the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award, which acknowledges unprecedented, unique and outstanding individual achievement in country music. The songstress had a remarkable 2013. She sang the theme song for NFL ‘Sunday Night Football,’ and starred in the live televised production of ‘The Sound of Music.’ In addition, Underwood continued her global Blown Away Tour, which included a stop at London’s prestigious Royal Albert Hall.

Rascal Flatts will be presented with the Jim Reeves Award, which recognizes country artists who have made outstanding contributions in the acceptance of country music all over the world. The trio performed seven shows overseas last year, including stops in Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Keith and Milsap will both receive the Career Achievement Award, for their advancement of the popularity and acceptance of country music through their endeavors in the entertainment industry beyond music. Steve Buchanan, president of the Opry Entertainment Group, will also receive the award.

Kristofferson and Dillon will receive the Poet’s Award, along with Buck Owens and Jack Clement, who will receive it posthumously. The Poet’s Award recognizes songwriters and artists who have made outstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their careers in country music.

See a complete list of upcoming honorees here.

Next: ACM Awards - Fair or Biased?

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of The Boot

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Boot quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!