Contact Us

Taylor Swift, Garth Brooks, Reba Among ACM Honors Recipients

Getty Images for ACM

Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium stage hosted a star-studded evening Monday night (Sept. 19), with Taylor Swift, Garth Brooks, Reba McEntire, Larry Gatlin and the Gatlin Brothers and more receiving awards during the annual ACM Honors. Hosted by Joe Nichols, the industry event acknowledges artists who have made a significant impact in the country music genre.

In the midst of her wildly successful Speak Now world tour, Taylor was honored with the Jim Reeves International Award, which recognizes an artist who has made significant strides toward the acceptance of country music internationally. Taylor kicked off her second headlining tour earlier this year in Asia before performing dates in Europe, North America and Australia.

Garth and the Gatlin Brothers are the recipients of the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award, which honors trailblazing acts in country music. According to Soundscan, Garth’s domestic album sales tally more than 68 million, making the superstar entertainer the best-selling recording artist in the U.S. during the Soundscan era. With 18 ACM awards under his belt buckle, the Oklahoma native is one of the most decorated artists in ACM history.

With a career that spans 37 years, Larry, Randy and Steve Gatlin have earned 36 Top 40 singles, including their No. 1 singles, ‘I Just Wish You Were Someone I Love’ and ‘All the Gold in California.’ The sibling trio scored in a Grammy award in 1976 for their breakthrough hit, ‘Broken Lady,’ and have earned a 3 ACM awards.

Getty Images for ACM

Reba was honored with the ACM Career Achievement Award, which is given to an artist who advances the popularity of country music through contributions in multiple areas of the entertainment industry. The country legend recently announced her return to television, starring in the television pilot for ‘Malibu Country.’ Earlier this year, Reba earned her 23rd No. 1 single with ‘Turn on the Radio,’ and has scored 13 ACM awards, including Entertainer of the Year in 1994.

The ‘Country Strong‘ soundtrack received the Tex Ritter Film Award, which honors a movie that features country music. The 2010 film stars Tim McGraw and Gwyneth Paltrow, with soundtrack contributions from country superstars Faith Hill, Trace Adkins, Lee Ann Womack, Chris Young and Patty Loveless, among others.

Hank Cochran, Tom T. Hall and industry veteran John Dorris all received awards for their contributions to the growth and acceptance of country music. Click here for all the 2011 ACM Honors award winners.

if(typeof AOLVP_cfg===’undefined’)AOLVP_cfg=[];AOLVP_cfg.push({id:’AOLVP_1105696135001′,’codever':0.1,’autoload':false,’autoplay':false,’displaymnads':true,’playerid':’89761511001′,’videoid':’1105696135001′,’width':476,’height':357,’playertype':’inline’,’stillurl':’dynamic’,’videolink':’#’,’videotitle':’dynamic’,’videodesc':”});

Recommended for You

Around the Web

Best of The Boot

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for The Boot quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!